Inaugural Class of Fellows of The Combustion Institute Elected


As usual Australia has done extremely well with the announcement of seven new Australian Fellows of the Combustion Institute.

Heartiest congratulations to our new Fellows:

Terry Wall, University of Newcastle, Australia for seminal advances in the knowledge of chemical and physical processes associated with pulverised coal combustion

Alexander Y. Klimenko, The University of Queensland, Australia for brilliant advances in the conditional moment closure (CMC) and conditional methods in application to combustion modelling

Brian S. Haynes, University of Sydney, Australia for breakthrough knowledge in the fields of pollutants formation, chemical processing and reactions in micro-channels

Evatt R. Hawkes, University of New South Wales Sydney, Australia for exceptional research in combustion modelling, particularly using large-scale direct numerical simulations and practical models in engine-relevant problems

G.J. (Gus) Nathan, The University of Adelaide, Australia for innovative development of low-emission combustion technologies and the enhanced understanding of soot formation and particle-laden flows

I.W. Smith, Australia for fundamental breakthroughs in the understanding of char formation, char combustion and coal combustion

Assaad R. Masri, University of Sydney, Australia for pioneering experimental investigations of turbulent gaseous and spray flames involving local extinction



25 Feb 2018